In the clear!

The good news is that I now have the results of my PET scan and it’s clear: the cancer has been killed! The Hodgkin’s Lymphoma is no more! The relief is enormous particularly as my wife and I recently noted a lump on my neck more or less where the lymphoma had been and weren’t sure whether this was simply scar tissue from the biopsy or a resurgent lymphoma; happily it seems it is the former.

My body still seems to be in a kind of mixed up state as I am still losing body hair even though the same limb is now growing new hair where the hair first fell out. My beard has come back so that at least my chin now feels as it should do and  my eyes are now once more defined by both eyebrows and eyelashes. I’m particularly happy to have eyelashes once again to stop all the tiny bits of stuff that had been getting in my eyes. The hair on my head continues to grow and it still looks as though I will have dark on top with white sides looking like some cheap toupee!

I do want to say a big thank you to everyone who has read and commented on my blog as the feeling of support that has given me has been tremendous and was, I think, a significant part of keeping up my morale which in turn has played a significant part in my coming through this so well. I particularly want to say a really big thank you to those of you who are having a much tougher time than I did, but who still took the trouble to read, comment and generally wish me well. It’s almost a cliché to say that you have been a source of inspiration for me but you have, and I took your ability to be positive as an exemplar: I know I will almost certainly never meet you but you have really played a very big part in my being able to deal with the morale of this god-awful disease and I hope I can repay some of that debt by giving you support as you fight your own battles.

Next targets are my Florida driver’s license – I have to start from scratch with a driver education course before I can apply for my Learner’s License and then the driving test itself. It’s now over a year since I last drove so I am very much looking forward to getting behind the wheel once again. By the time I take my test I’m hoping that my levels of stamina and concentration will be back at employable levels as I need a job, so, if anyone wants to employ me I’m available ;o)

3 Comments

Filed under Cancer, chemo, chemotherapy, Hodgkins Lymphoma

3 responses to “In the clear!

  1. C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S !!!
    Wonderful, wonderful news.

  2. That’s great news! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

