Spring time

Yesterday I received an email from my youngest daughter telling me about her visit to Locke Park Barnsley with my grandchildren and she mentioned that it was the first “warmish” day they’d had for a while. The word “warmish” got me thinking about the changing of the seasons, and how you can actually feel that happen. I remember walking through the rec on my way to catch the train to work and noticing the small changes in the air temperature, the colour of the light and the changes in the path-side flowers as they grew, sometimes on an almost daily basis, and changed from a slender shoot just poking above the ground into a beautiful yellow daffodil. On mornings such as those it was a good start to the day, and, also, it has to be said, a good ending to the work day as I walked the same path homeward some eleven hours later. As Spring began to move towards that short period which it shares with Summer, before Summer is fully ready to take charge, the air would have warmed to the point where I didn’t bother with a jacket and I would luxuriate in the warmth of the sun through my shirt, would just enjoy the feeling of the air on my skin knowing that for most of the rest of the day I would be trapped in a sweaty tin box on rails and subsequently inside a building removed from any sensory input from the real world. Later would come Autumn. Once more a time of changing light but accompanied by the often stunning colours of the leaves on the trees, and, if no-one was around to see me reverting to child, the crunch and swish of fallen leaves as I plowed through them rather than walking around them as an adult should, a big smile on my face as memories of my childhood walks to school came flooding back. Then, naturally, came winter: cold winds, rain and snow, but the morning walk could still be enjoyable as my skin responded to the temperature or to the pummelling it took from wind-driven raindrops. I miss that interaction with the world. Here in Florida we don’t have the four seasons and it always seems to warm or hot but at least, before I got this cancer, I could get out amongst the natural world in a local park, could delight in the changing interplay of flora, light , wind and time. Now however my days are largely confined to indoors with my explorations limited to the evenings when it is cooler, when walking is less tiring and I don’t have to hide from the sun, and I really miss walking in the natural world. Hopefully in three or four months I will again be physically strong enough to go for a walk in the natural environment and I really, really, really look forward to that!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cancer

Leave a Reply

