2nd Opinions

So today we went for a second opinion from Doctor Hoffman of the Cleveland Clinic. I found it very hard going as I’ve had a couple of very tough days. The appointment was for 3 p.m. which meant we were travelling at a time when my body usually takes an hour out for a nap, whether I want it to or not. The journey itself was tiring, the walk from the car to the clinic was excruciatingly slow. I looked so rough that staff wanted to get me a wheelchair but I was determined to make it on my own two feet, or drop to the ground trying! I made it but was wiped out – all I wanted to do was sleep. My mouth was so dry that I found it difficult to speak and my wife kept assuring people, “He’s not usually this quiet: it’s the chemo”. How right she was! Anyway Dr Hoffman basically confirmed Dr Tache’s treatment plan and then went through the process step by step, starting with what happens at the end of my four months of chemo. At that point I will go for another PET scan which will, hopefully, confirm that there is no longer any sign of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma or any other type of cancer anywhere in my body. That much I knew and, if I’m honest, I’ve been looking forward to the day after that scan for quite a while now. It seems I am foolish to do so. What Dr Hoffman said, and which I now have a vague memory of Dr Tache telling me some time ago though the memory hadn’t stuck as there were other more immediate things to take on board at the time, is that even if the PET scan comes back clean then the usual follow-up is another two months of chemo. This means that, assuming the treatment works properly, I’m now five weeks into chemotherapy and further from finishing it than I thought I was on the first day of treatment!!

4 Comments

Filed under Cancer, chemo, chemotherapy, Cleveland Clinic, Hodgkins Lymphoma

4 responses to “2nd Opinions

  1. You can do it!! Keep going…
    I’m on month 7 of weekly doses, let’s try and bang this cancer out together. Having an end point is nice, I hope yours is truly a finish line after your scans. Be well in your healing.

    • Sorry, I hadn’t meant to sound so self-pitying! It was intended more as an example of my not listening when I thought I was – mindslip if you will.
      We will, as you suggest, bang this cancer together and I hope that I’m only a minute behind you in crossing that finish line! Come on get that aluminium foil cloak around your shoulders, pose for the camera and smile!

Leave a Reply

