Give it up for the USCIS

Earlier this week we met with my attorney about my application for residency here in the US. One of the things we discussed, naturally, was my having Classic Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, and my oncologist’s advice to avoid groups of people in confined spaces. Clearly the waiting room at US Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) would have groups of people and would be a confined space so my wife suggested asking if special arrangements might be made for me. I scoffed at that suggestion. I really couldn’t imagine a government department going out of its way for me like that, but Adam, from Collett’s law office, took on the task of trying to arrange something and I have to admit I shouldn’t have scoffed, and I now have egg on my face. The USCIS special arrangement is that, instead of me going to their office and being taken in via a back door or being interviewed in our car, their agent/officer will come here to our house for the interview. Wow!! I mean, how amazing is that? Isn’t that just fantastic customer service? Collett had said that, as I was the husband of a US citizen, she anticipated that USCIS would be as helpful as possible, but I never expected this kind of offer. So, my thanks to Adam and the USCIS.

Having had a few bad days I seem now to have stepped back up to a point of equilibrium. I’m still having problems with sleep and energy levels. I didn’t go to bed until 2.30 a.m. this morning and only managed to sleep until 5 a.m. when I woke up needing to eat. Managed to get back to sleep for another three hours and then woke again needing to eat. It will be interesting to see whether next week’s infusion changes this pattern.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cancer, chemotherapy, Hodgkins Lymphoma, Immigration, USCIS

Leave a Reply

